Saints Jason McKee named AJHL Coach of the Year…

The 2013-2014 AJHL Coach of the Year is Jason McKee of the Spruce Grove Saints. McKee and the Saints have held a spot at the top of the AJHL Standings all season, and currently hold onto first place with 93 points and just two regular season games remaining.

The Saints lead the league with 288 goals for, and a goal differential of +98 (Goals For / Goals Against).
The Spruce Grove Saints were ranked as #1 in the CJHL Top 20 Weekly Rankings multiple times throughout the final months of the regular season.

Jason McKee has held the position of Saints Head Coach and General Manager for the past four seasons, guiding the team to the AJHL final in 2011 and 2013, and capturing the League Title in 2011. McKee made his second appearance with Team Canada West at the World Junior A Challenge in November 2013. McKee led Canada West to a bronze medal as Head Coach, following a silver medal performance as an Assistant Coach in 2012. McKee was previously Head Coach of Team West at the 2011 CJHL Prospects Games.

Four members of the 2013-2014 Spruce Grove Saints were finalists for AJHL League Awards, including McKeeâ??s nomination. Four current players on the Saints roster have accepted NCAA scholarships for the 2014-2015 season and beyond.

McKee was also a finalist for the Alberta Junior Hockey League Coach of the Year Award in 2012-2013.

â?¢ 2013-2014 Award Finalists: Garry VanHereweghe, Lloydminster Bobcats; Andrew Milne, Canmore Eagles; Brian Curran, Drumheller Dragons
â?¢ 2012-2013 Award Winner: Ryan Papaioannou, Brooks Bandits