Saints win 3 AJHL League Awards…

In what hopes to be a sign of things to come, the Saints have managed to take home 3 league awards as voted on by the Coaches & General Managers of the AJHL.

Jason McKee – Coach of the Year

For the second consecutive year, Coach McKee has won the AJHL Coach of the Year Award.  Jason has been a finalist for the award the past 4 seasons and has accomplished something only 3 other AJHL coaches have done in the past; win back to back awards.

Jason joins fellow Saints coaches Steve Hamilton (2009,2010), Blaine Galbraith (St. Albert Saints 1991), & Doug Messier ( Edmonton Mets 1974) as winners of the AJHL Coach of the Year.

“It's a tremendous honour to win this award for the second year in a row, as there are some exceptional coaches in the AJHL.” states Coach McKee “i owe a lot of thanks to Mike (Associate Coach Ringrose) he is a big part of what we accomplish here both on and off the ice with our players.  My name will go on the trophy, but essentially it is a team award because it is a reflection of our team, and everyone involved.”


Brandon Biro – Rookie of the Year (Dick White Trophy)

16 year old forward Brandon Biro has won the Dick White Trophy for Rookie of the Year.  Ranked in the top 10 in scoring with 21 Goals 33 Assists for 54 Points, Brandon currently sits 2nd in scoring for the Saints.

On Brandon Biro, from Coach Jason McKee- “An exceptional young talent, I think what separates Brandon from a lot of players, not only rookies, is his desire to compete and he never quits.  With a relentless work ethic like that and with the skill package that he has, it's not shocking the numbers that he has put up this year.  He is very deserving of the award for sure.”

Brandon is the 7th Saint in club history to win the Dick White Trophy. He joins: Keith Hertz (Spruce Grove Mets 1974), John McMillan (St. Albert Saints 1983), Spruce Grove native Stu Barnes (St.Albert Saints 1987), Terry Degner (St. Albert Saints 1989), Mike Comrie (St. Albert Saints 1997) & Dillon Simpson (Spruce Grove Saints 2010) as award recipient.


Parker McKay – Most Dedicated Player (Don McNabb Memorial Trophy)

Captain of the Saints, Parker MacKay is having another great season for the Saints.  In his 3rd season with the Saints and averaging 1.0 points per game, Parker is a leader both on and off the ice. 

“Parker couldn't be more deserving of this award.” states Head Coach Jason McKee “His commitment to playing a 200 foot game, and his willingness to sacrifice for his teammates truly makes him a special player.  For the past 3 seasons Parker has proven to be a great representative of our team and the Alberta Junior Hockey League.”

Parker is the 5th Saint in club history to win the Don McNabb Memorial Trophy.  He joins: Troy Murray (St. Albert Saints 1979), Dustin Fahl (St. Albert Saints 1991), Nick Johnson (St. Albert Saints 2004), Nate Fleming (Spruce Grove Saints 2010) as award recipient.